How To Delete Sent Messages On Facebook Messenger

Facebook has rolled out a new feature on its official Messenger application that allows users to delete sent messages on Android and iOS devices. Facebook Messenger is second only to WhatsApp as the most-used instant messaging app. After years of user requests with regards to being given the ability to delete messages after hitting the send button, it is finally here. Keep reading to know more about how the new Unsend feature works in the Facebook Messenger.

The messenger app, owned by the social networking giant, has an established set of rules that every user has to follow. Facebook certainly likes to maintain a certain level of control over how users interact over its messenger app. For example, exiting Facebook Messenger is not officially supported unless you resort to a workaround discussed here. The dark mode is another highly coveted feature many users would like to have in the app. These are some of the restrictions imposed by the company.

How_To_Use_Facebook_Messenger_Unsend

 

 

On the other hand, amidst the rising cacophony of overwhelming demand to allow users to un-send messages or delete the ones already sent, Facebook has finally budged. But there is a catch; you have to delete the message within ten minutes or else it won’t be possible to revoke the action.

Facebook Messenger Unsend Feature

This new feature is named Unsend. It has obvious uses in cases where someone has accidentally sent the message(s) to the wrong contact, to correct typos, or simply undo something untoward said in the message and etcetera.

That it is possible to delete previously sent messages first came to light back in April 2018 when people noticed Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s messages automatically vanished without leaving a trace. Later it was revealed that Mark’s messages disappeared after a specific period of time, mainly to protect Facebook from public embarrassment similar to the one that Sony encountered in the aftermath of its email leak episode in 2014.

When the knowledge became widespread that the feature is at Zuckerberg’s disposal, people started asking for the same be made available to everyone. So this release is the culmination of almost a yearlong pressure on the company. According to the official company notes, the feature is available to all Facebook Messenger users on both iOS and Android, provided they are on the latest version of the application.

Facebook tells The Verge that the new feature will be available today on the latest versions of Messenger for iOS and Android. The company says the new ability is based on the Zuckerberg power, but it underwent “some improvements to provide broader functionality to people using Messenger.

How To Use Facebook Messenger Unsend Feature To Remove Sent Messages

Anyone who has sent a message but later decides to unsend it can follow the steps below to remove them instantly. Just make sure that you undo messages within the first 10 minutes of sending them to the recipient(s).

Facebook_Messenger_unsend_messages_feature

Using this, you can delete a message by choosing either the Remove for everyone or Remove for you option. Here are the steps:

  1. Open Facebook Messenger application on your iOS or Android device.
  2. Long-press or tap on the sent message you want to remove.
  3. You will now see a pop-up with two options: Remove for everyone and Remove for you.
  4. Selecting remove the message for everyone option will replace the original text with the information that this message has been deleted.
  5. If you remove the message just for yourself, it will simply disappear from the messager app.

That’s it. The new Unsend feature may not carry an imaginative moniker but it is sure to save you from falling into an awkward situation the next time you send an unintended message.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*